The saying “two is better than one” certainly does not apply to DUIs in South Carolina. You probably know how serious one of these charges are, but the consequences are even more severe with each additional charge.
First Offense Charges
In South Carolina a first offence DUI is classified as a misdemeanor. You can face up to 30 days in jail, up to $400 in fines and a license revocation up to six months long, if your blood alcohol content is under 0.1 percent. These consequences become even more severe if your BAC tests above 0.16 percent.
However, just your second offense increases the penalties by a lot.
Second Offense Charges
Even two DUIs can have a significant impact on your future. Your second offense is still considered a misdemeanor, but it is punishable by up to a year in jail, $5,100 in fines and a year without your license. However, like with a first offense, the consequences are even heavier if your BAC is above .1 percent and worse still above .16 percent.
Third and Fourth Offense Charges
Your third DUI carries hefty consequences such as three years in jail, $6,300-$10,000 in fines and up to four years without a license. However, your fourth offense has the most severe punishment.
A fourth DUI is classified as a felony, which will go on your criminal record, along with five years in jail and a potentially permanent license revocation.
All of the above penalties can also include mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device after your license is reinstated.
Getting a DUI in South Carolina is no simple traffic violation; it is a serious charge that carries mounting consequences. If you are facing a first or consecutive offense you may want to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you mitigate your consequences.